NO JOY Boot hangs 5 minute at "Switching to clockwork tsc" line

Brian Simmons

Reaction score
I have installed a PIAF Green 2.11 (everything is latest version - downloaded and installed yesterday) on a machine that wasn't being used at the office. It is a beast of a machine, and total overkill for this application, but it made more sense to use it than buying a slower machine to use.

The installation process went fine. But now when I reboot, the process hangs up on a line, "Switching to clockwork TSC" for about 5 minutes. If left long enough, it will eventually continue on and finish the booting process just fine.

I'm no Linux expert. In fact, my linux exposure is extremely limited. I'd love some help to figure out what is going on and how to fix it.

PS - I turned off any overclocking or memory boosting in the BIOS thinking it might cause an issue, but that did not help prevent the hang.

Thanks,

Brian

randy7376

Defnyddiwr Gweithredol
Reaction score
Brian Simmons

You might want to check out this thread. It deals with a different problem, but I have details in it on how to check for available clock sources and change the default. The tsc (time-stamp counter) clock source has given me grief in the past.

Brian Simmons

Reaction score
I added the "clocksource=tsc" command to the end of the kernel line in the grub.conf file.

Now when it boots, I get this line "Overriding clocksource tsc is not HRT compatible. Cannot switch while in HRT/NOHZ mode"
the next line is the same "Switching to clockwork tsc" as before and results in the 5 min hang.

Am I putting the command in the right place? Any other suggestions? Thanks!

randy7376

Defnyddiwr Gweithredol
Reaction score
Brian Simmons

Well, since you seem to be having problems with tsc, you should probably try a different clock source. I believe you're seeing the reason WHY your system is hanging on the tsc clock source.