GO HERE Can this be done?

Nicholas Marion

Reaction score
I've been searching high and low for a viable option but haven't been successful.

As an intern, I've been tasked with looking for an option to offer clients the possibility to call in and be routed through an IVR in order to get information from a database. I've been able to successfully do it through Twilio and have it sent to a url of my choice. We're looking for a cheaper option or one that we can expand upon.

Despite me having trouble getting centOS and Incredible PBX successfully installed onto a virtual system while at work, I was wondering if this is possible using Asterisk and PBX or if I'm not going in the right direction. The goal:

Client calls number, possibly Google Voice or alternative.
Gets linked to server
Server runs code, *I used python for Twilio app*
IVR gathers information from client such as phone number and prompts what they're looking for.
Based on selection, sends request to Database and supplies client with response.

Future functionality would then support routing to different extensions via an IVR, but on a different number.

I'm sorry if I wasn't clear on what I'm looking for, but will be willing to answer any questions if you have any to get me in the right direction.

Is this possible with Asterisk and Incredible PBX?

SkykingOH

Guru
Reaction score
Yes.....you can come intern with us. My last intern couldn't even make a good cup of coffee.

Nicholas Marion

Reaction score
Sorry to hear about your last intern. :p

That's great to hear it is possible. I've finally gotten centOS and IncrediblePBX installed. However I can't seem to access the GUI PBX via the IP. I did check the status and it says it is running. I was able to Putty into and verify that functionality. Any suggestions on why I can't access the PBX side?