RECOMMENDATIONS Rack mount server

Max Power

Reaction score
I am not new to PBXiaF but I am new to deploying systems for customers.

I am looking for advice on what server to deploy. They will have a rack and cost isn't too much of a concern so I would like to go with a rack mount server. I would also like to run ESXi on the server to be able to take snapshots etc. Possibly run a small file server. I would like to run an SSD and probably 4GB-GB ram. Not fussy on the processor other than it needs to run ESXi. They will have about 10 extensions to start but their sales are doubling yearly and no signs of slowing down.

I typically buy used server equipment for my own use with new hard drives however this doesn't seem like the right thing to do for a customer.

Can anyone recommend a server that is a good value and would be a good fit?

rossiv

Guru
Reaction score
I'm personally a fan of SuperMicro's 1U Atom boxes. The C2758 would make a pretty nice ESXi box.

phonebuff

Guru
Reaction score
I second the Supermicro solution - Last box is did --

SUP SY 5018A-TN4 1RU Atom C2750
SUP AC MCP-220-00051-0N Retail
KNG 4G DDR3 1600 ECC SODIMM LV
SAM SSD 120G 2.5" 840 EVO

rossiv

Guru
Reaction score
I don't. I have a Dell server for that. But there is no reason it shouldn't work.

atsak

Guru
Reaction score
These are hard to find in stock in Canada!

Supermicro works with only 2 of the major distributors here that I know about, and doesn't have a lot of stock in Canada. You can get pretty much anything you want - any VAR can special order it for you - but you will have to wait. NCIX is the best bet online for retail.

Brianmac

Reaction score
Very happy with Dell Poweredge 1950 III. specs(1U, 8gb ram, 2x E5430 Quad 2.66Ghz, 2x 80gb drives, Drac and raid). the nice thing is, Raid and the Drac is GREAT. You can actually watch the machine boot up remotely. These can be had for $150 shipped.

voip_user

Reaction score