TRY THIS New user - confused & frustrated

1 of 2 Jakes

Reaction score
I'm really new to asterisk and telephony in general!

My goal was to have the computers in my house call each other on softphones. I setup PIAF in virtualbox and proceeded to setup a few extensions. This is working and all computers & cell phones (with softphones) can call each other by dialling a 3 digit extension.
With this accomplished, I purchased an Obi100 to add a VOIP telephone to the setup. I signed up with “voipmuch” and setup Sp1 on the Obi100. This works as I can use a landline to dial my VOIP phone #, and “the phone plugged into the Obi100” rings. I can dial out from “the phone plugged into the Obi100” and connect to other landline phones.
I moved forward by setting up Sp2 as an extension in PIAF (ext500). Now the "phone plugged into the Obi100" can call all the softphones, and all the softphones can call the Obi100.
What I cannot do is call landline phones from a softphone.

I have gone over many tutorials (mostly for Obi110) on this, but I get confused by the references to 'line ports' on the OBI110. I've reset the obi100 to factory a dozen times, learned about virtualbox snapshots (after the 3rd complete setup!), and have become very confused between trunks and extensions, routes and dial plans.

I *think* the Obi100 doesn't know how to send a call from Sp2 to Sp1. How do I test for this condition?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Jake

PIAF green 3.6.5-32 updated
OBi100 1.3.0 (Build: 2872) (no updates available)

john p

Reaction score